3rd Nobel Sustainability Trust Summit

Symposium and Award Ceremony organized by Technical University Munich (TUM) and Nobel Sustainability Trust (NST)

The Nobel Sustainability Trust (NST) and the Institute of Advanced Study of Technical University Munich (TUM-IAS) cordially invite you to attend the Nobel Sustainability Trust Summit. This international event will consist in a symposium gathering experts from science & industry around the topic of Sustainability, and the Awarding Ceremony of the Sustainability Award 2023.

The Programme

Moderation: Yang Lan (journalist, TV moderator, co-founder and chairperson of Sun
Media Group)

Welcome address & Opening

09:00 – 09:05 | Prof. Markus Schwaiger (President of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities)

09:05 – 09:15 | The Sustainability Award Peter Nobel (Chairman of the Nobel Sustainability Trust Foundation)

09:15 – 09:20 | 

09:20 – 09:25 | Xie Zhenhua (Chinese representative on climate change) (Video speech)

09:25 – 09:40 | Universities as drivers of sustainable change
Prof. Thomas F. Hofmann (President of TUM)


09:40 – 10:00 | Changing World and Sustainable Energy
Prof. George Smoot (Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics 2006, University
of California, Berkeley) (Video keynote)

10:00 – 10:30 | Application of research results in policy and practice: A focus on water and agriculture.
Prof. Akissa Bahri (Professor Emeritus, National Agronomic Institute of Tunisia)

10:30 – 11:00 | Coffee Break

NST Award Ceremony

11:00 – 11:10 | Award Ceremony

11:10 – 11:40 | Sustainability Award for Outstanding Research and Development in the field of Energy
Laudatio by Dr. Rolf Nagel (Co-founder, MVP Management GmbH)
Awardee: Prof. Elena Bou (Innovation Director, EIT InnoEnergy)

11:40 – 12:10 | Sustainability Award for Leadership in Implementation
Laudatio by Prof. Eugénia da Conceição-Heldt (Professor for European
and Global Governance, TUM)
Awardee: Lord Nicholas Stern (Professor, London School of Economics and Political Science)

12:10 – 12:30 | Medals for Outstanding Contribution in Sustainability Introduction by Peter Nobel, videos of Awardees John Kerry (U.S. Special Presidential Envoy for Climate)
Yugun Zheng (Co-founder, CATL)

12:30 – 13:30 | Lunch Break


13:30 – 14:00 | Glaciers, Water, Sustainability: a deeper understanding of sustainable water supply.
Dr. Christoph Mayer (Senior researcher in Geodesy and Glaciology,
Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities)

14:00 – 14:30 | Princess Elisabeth Antarctica Research Station: How the world’s only zero-emissions research station has been providing a unique sustainable platform for 15 years. Preparing for tomorrow.
Dr. Martin Leitl & Nicolas Van Hoecke (Princess Elisabeth Antarctica Research Station)

Entrepreneurship and Sustainability

Global companies present their sustainability philosophies

14:30 – 14:55 | Entrepreneurial Sustainability: a geographical comparison.
H.H. Princess Tilsim of Liechtenstein (CEO, Sinter Metal Technologies)

14:55 – 15:20 | How does Lidl contribute to a better world?
Dr. Alexander David (Director Corporate Social Responsibility, Lidl
Stiftung & Co. KG)

15:20 – 15:40 | Coffee Break

15:40 – 16:05 | Multiply sustainable impact now
Dr. Eva Riesenhuber (Global Head of Sustainability, Siemens)

16:05 – 16:20 | Hui Zhang (Vice President, NIO Europe)

Announcement of next year’s Sustainability Award competition and Farewell

16:20 – 16:30 

Route directions

Since there is no parking available at the Academy, we do not recommend traveling by car.

Public transport:
S-Bahn S1-S8, stop at “Marienplatz” (10 min. walking)
U3, U4, U5 & U6 , stop at “Odeonsplatz” (5 min. walking)
Tram 19 & 21, stop at “Nationaltheater” (5 min. walking)

Contact us

If you have any questions, please contact us at:
info@nst-sustainabilityaward.events or: